Since its beginning snooker has been one of the most popular competition sports. It’s popularity spreads rapidly among all the countries. We see more and more champions emerging from all corners of the world. We have selected some of the greatest snooker players of all time according to their performance and longevity.

Ronnie O’Sullivan

Ronnie O’Sullivan is considered one of the best players in the world. This superstar is considered to be a natural talent and perhaps the most gifted player of all time. His nickname, “The Rocket” best describes his playing style. He is the proud holder of five World Champion titles, six master titles and five UK Championship titles. And he declared that he isn’t even close to retiring. We anxiously wait to see his next performance. He is also a record-breaker. He is the youngest player to ever win the Masters at the young age of 19 years and 69 days.

Stephen Hendry

Our next record-breaker is Stephen Hendry. He is the player that won the World Championship at the age of 20 in 1990. He held the number one title for 8 seasons in a row, had 7 world titles, 6 masters and 5 UK Championship wins. In the eyes of some critics he is the number one world-wide.

Steve Davis

Steve Davis is considered to be the first snooker superstar thanks to his undisputed dominance in the 80’s. “The Nugget” retired in 2016 at the age of 59 after an amazing career. He won 6 world titles and his famous match from 1985 at the World Championship Finals was watched by more than 18.5 million people in the UK. It is easy to understand why he is considered the first snooker superstar.

Alex Higgins

Alex “The Hurricane” Higgins was an amazing snooker player thanks to his destructive style and strategy. He won two World titles, the UK Championship and to master titles, being one of the ten players world-wide to complete the Triple Crown. Unfortunately, after his health deteriorated drastically he passed away in 2010 at the age of 61. His legacy changed the world of snooker forever.

Mark Selby

Mark Selby is the current number one. “The Jester from Leicester” is the sixth player to ever win the Triple Crown. He won it twice having 3 master titles, 2 UK Championships and 2 World Championships. He is also a pool player, winning 2006 WEPF eight-ball pool championship and he also managed to reach the finals of 2015 Chinese Pool World Championship.

Joe Davis

Joe Davis is thought to be the father of snooker. He helped to organize the first World Championship in 1927, winning the competition shortly. He held the world champion title for the next 15 years and then he retired. He had never lost a match in the world championship and this is how he transformed in a legend of snooker.

Dennis Taylor

Dennis Taylor is the player that beat Steve David in the legendary World Championship Finals from 1985. He also won a Grand Prix and a master, and he will always be remembered for his trademark oversized glasses.